St Nicholas was one of the first Catholic Schools in Liverpool.
1806-A Catholic Charity School opened on what is known as the Royal Mail Sorting Office.
1840’s- Father James Nugent, a priest at St Nicholas, opened a Ragged School on the site. He is one of the priests listed at Warren St in 1851; the entry has stamped over it ‘St Nicholas Catholic School, Hawke St, Copperas Hill.
1968- The school was separate in Infants and Junior schools on the site in Copperas Hill.
1972/73 – The school once again moved to Brownlow Hill, its new location behind the old Irish Centre and the Metropolitan Cathedral. This is the site where the school remains to this day.
1990 – The Infant and Junior Schools amalgamated, and St. Nicholas’ became the Primary School it now is.
To discover more archive photographs of St Nicholas and other Liverpool schools, click the link here.